CA K Sanjay BhargavChartered Accountant
Open menu
← All articles

Foreign Assets Information in your AIS: how to read it before you respond

CA K Sanjay Bhargav, Chartered Accountant, Bengaluru

Membership No. 250054 · DISA (ICAI)

Published

Short answer: the Foreign Assets Information report sits in your AIS under Compliance Portal > Reports > Foreign Assets Information, one calendar year at a time, as a password-protected PDF. It shows what foreign banks and brokers reported under the Common Reporting Standard (CRS) and the India–US FATCA agreement: the institution, the account number, currency, dividend, interest, gross proceeds, other payments and the year-end account balance. It does not show peak balances, gains or anything a foreign institution did not report. Most mismatches with your return come from timing and definitions rather than errors. Feedback can be submitted once per category, and it does not repair an omission in a return.

If you are here because of the department's email saying "our records indicate that you may have overseas financial interests", what that email means is covered separately. This page is about reading the report itself.

Where it comes from, and what it is for

On 8 July 2026 the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT), which administers income tax in India, issued an order under section 119 of the Income-tax Act, 1961, with a parallel order under section 239 of the Income-tax Act, 2025. The orders direct that information received under the automatic exchange of information (AEOI) framework be uploaded into each taxpayer's Annual Information Statement (AIS). CBDT's note of 17 July 2026 calls the facility one "to facilitate, and not to investigate." It also makes two points that matter more than that phrase:

  • The report is not a complete record. Taxpayers must report all foreign assets and income in Schedule FA and Schedule FSI whether or not they appear in the AIS.
  • Each calendar year's data arrives from September of the following year. Calendar year 2025 was expected in September or October 2026, so check whether it is in the drop-down before relying on the report for AY 2026-27.

The official user guide adds a third limit. Only records reported with a valid PAN are included. An account at a bank that never recorded your PAN may be missing, and its absence does not reduce what you have to disclose.

Finding it: the exact path

  1. Log in at incometax.gov.in.
  2. Open the AIS: e-File > Income Tax Returns > View Annual Information Statement (AIS), or the AIS tab on the home page. This opens the Compliance Portal.
  3. Click the Reports tab.
  4. Click Foreign Assets Information.
  5. Choose the calendar year from the drop-down and click Download PDF.
  6. Open the PDF with your PAN in lower case followed by your date of birth as DDMMYYYY. For PAN AAAAA1234A and a birth date of 21 January 1991, that is aaaaa1234a21011991.

Nothing is displayed on screen, and Submit Feedback stays disabled until you have downloaded the PDF.

What each field means

The PDF has two parts. Part A is your PAN and name. Part B is calendar-year specific, one block per account:

FieldWhat it isWhat it is not
TSN (Transaction Sequence Number)The unique reference for each record. You need it to give feedbackAn account number
Country nameThe jurisdiction that sent the dataNecessarily where you opened the account online
Financial Institution NameThe reporting bank, broker, custodian or insurerYour employer, even for an employee share plan
Bank Account NumberThe account as the institution identifies itAlways a bank account. Brokerage and custodial accounts appear here too
CurrencyThe currency the income and payments are reported inThe currency of the balance, which is shown separately
Dividend (A)Total gross dividends paid or credited in the calendar yearNet of foreign tax withheld
Interest (B)Total gross interest in the calendar yearAccrued interest not yet credited
Gross Proceeds (C)Total proceeds from sales or redemptions credited in the calendar yearA gain, and not the taxable amount
Any Other Payments (D)Other amounts paid or credited, such as fund distributionsSalary or RSU vesting income
In Indian Rupees (INR)Columns A to D converted to rupeesNecessarily at the SBI rate Schedule FA uses; the guide does not state the rate
Account Balance (in Reported Currency)The balance at the end of the calendar year, in the reported currency, with a separate line for each currency in a multi-currency accountThe peak balance, and not converted to rupees

CRS and FATCA do not carry the same data. Under CRS, a jurisdiction reports the year-end balance and, for custodial accounts, dividends, interest, other income and gross proceeds. Under Article 2(2)(b) of the India–US FATCA agreement, the United States sends India only the account number, interest on deposit accounts, US-source dividends and other US-source income. It sends no balance and no sale proceeds. So an RSU account with a US broker will typically show dividends and little else. That is a limit of the agreement, not of what you hold.

The balance is the institution's figure. It is the value the institution calculates for its statements to you, and a negative balance is reported as zero. CRS also lets a jurisdiction report an average balance instead, so an occasional figure will match neither your 31 December statement nor your peak.

The calendar-year trap, in both directions

The report and Schedule FA are both calendar-year: for AY 2026-27, Schedule FA covers 1 January to 31 December 2025. The rest of the return runs on the Indian financial year, April to March. That produces two kinds of false mismatch.

Comparing the wrong year. The years loaded so far, calendar years 2022 to 2024, belong to the Schedule FA of AY 2023-24, AY 2024-25 and AY 2025-26. Put the calendar year 2024 report beside the AY 2024-25 return and every figure will be "wrong", because that return's Schedule FA covered calendar year 2023.

Comparing with income schedules. Interest and dividends offered to tax in Schedule OS and claimed in Schedule FSI follow the financial year. The calendar year 2024 dividend figure covers January to March 2024 (financial year 2023-24) and April to December 2024 (financial year 2024-25). It should match your Schedule FA for AY 2025-26, and will almost never match the income reported for either financial year.

Why the balance will not match your Schedule FA

For a foreign bank account (Table A1) and a custodial or brokerage account (Table A2), Schedule FA wants the peak balance during the calendar year and the closing balance; for each shareholding (Table A3), the initial, peak and closing value. Every figure is converted at the State Bank of India telegraphic transfer buying rate on the date of the peak, the date of investment or 31 December, as the case may be.

So compare the report's balance with your closing balance, in the foreign currency, before conversion, not with your peak or your rupee figure. If you do not have peak figures to hand, the worksheet below (the site's Schedule FA peak balance worksheet) takes you through reading the peak off monthly statements.

Gross proceeds, joint accounts and closed accounts

Gross proceeds are not gains. If you sold shares for 30,000 and they cost 28,200, the report shows 30,000. Your capital gains schedule shows 1,800, computed for the financial year; for RSU shares, cost is the market value at vesting already taxed as salary. A large gross-proceeds figure with a small or nil gain is normal.

Joint accounts appear in full against each holder. The CRS commentary attributes the entire balance and the entire amounts credited to each holder of a joint account. If you and your resident spouse hold a joint account abroad, both reports show the whole balance and the whole interest, and each of you discloses the account in your own Schedule FA. How the interest is taxed between you depends on whose money funded it. "Partially correct" is not the right response to a correctly reported joint account.

Closed accounts still count for the years they were open. Under CRS, an institution must report that an account was closed, but it need not report the balance before or at closure. It can therefore appear with a nil or missing balance. Schedule FA asks for accounts held at any time in the calendar year, so an account closed in March 2024 belongs in the Schedule FA for AY 2025-26 with its peak balance for January to March and a nil closing balance. It drops out from AY 2026-27 onwards.

A worked reconciliation

The facts are illustrative. A resident employee of a US multinational downloads the calendar year 2024 report and reconciles it against the return for AY 2025-26. Amounts are in the foreign currency, because that is how the report shows balances.

Account and itemAIS report, CY 2024Schedule FA, AY 2025-26 (CY 2024)Income schedules, AY 2025-26 (FY 2024-25)What it meansFeedback
UK savings account, held jointly with resident spouse: balanceGBP 8,200Peak GBP 14,600 (June 2024); closing GBP 8,200—Report balance is the closing balance. The peak was never in the reportInformation is correct
Same account: interestGBP 190GBP 190GBP 205 (April 2024 to March 2025)Calendar year against financial year. Both figures are rightInformation is correct, with a remark that the account is joint
US brokerage account holding RSUs: dividendUSD 1,240USD 1,240Taxed on financial-year receipts, with foreign tax credit via Form 67MatchesInformation is correct
Same account: balance and gross proceedsNot reportedPeak USD 96,000; closing USD 88,500; sale proceeds USD 21,000Gain on the sale in Schedule CGThe US does not send balances or proceeds. Disclosure comes from your statementsNothing to respond to
Singapore brokerage: gross proceedsSGD 30,000SGD 30,000Gain SGD 1,800 in Schedule CGProceeds are not a gainInformation is correct
Same account: balanceSGD 12,300Peak SGD 44,000; closing SGD 12,300—Report balance is the closing balanceInformation is correct

Every line reconciles, although a quick look would find five "differences". It changes character only when an account in the report is missing from Schedule FA altogether. That is an omission in a filed return, and feedback does not touch it.

Which feedback option, and when

The guide gives four feedback types: Information is correct, Information does not pertain to me, Information is partially correct and Information is incorrect. You then choose what the feedback is for: Account Balance, Dividend, Interest, Any Other Payments, or All of the Above. There is a remarks box limited to 400 characters. The version 1.0 guide lists no separate "gross proceeds" choice, so a point about proceeds goes under All of the Above or in the remarks.

The guide does not define the four options. The working reading:

OptionUse it whenDo not use it when
Information is correctThe figure matches the account's statement for that calendar year, even though your Schedule FA shows peak and rupee figuresYou are unsure. Wait until you have reconciled
Information does not pertain to meThe account was never yours, as holder, joint holder, signatory or beneficial owner, and was matched to your PAN in errorThe account is closed, joint, dormant, or held through an entity you control
Information is partially correctThe account is yours but one figure is wrong, such as a duplicated dividend or a wrong currencyThe only "error" is calendar year against financial year, or year-end against peak
Information is incorrectThe record relates to you but its figures are wrong throughoutA correct report shows an account you did not disclose

Three mechanics matter. Feedback on each category can be submitted only once. A second attempt returns an error, so reconcile before you respond. The acknowledgement is downloadable from Activity History, which keeps receipts for only the last 10 days, so save it promptly. And the remarks are on the record, so state facts ("joint account with spouse, PAN held by both; interest split by contribution") and not conclusions.

What feedback does not do

Feedback tells the department whether the reported data is accurate. It does not:

  • amend a filed return, or add an account to Schedule FA;
  • count as a revised return, an updated return or a declaration under the Foreign Assets of Small Taxpayers Disclosure Scheme, 2026 (FAST-DS);
  • explain the source of investment, which is what separates a disclosed asset from an undisclosed one under the Black Money Act;
  • affect the ₹10 lakh penalty that the Black Money Act attaches to a return that leaves a foreign asset out of Schedule FA.

Marking a genuine, undisclosed account "does not pertain to me" is worse than doing nothing. It puts an inaccurate statement on record about an account the department already has data on.

If an account or income is missing from a return, the question becomes which route fixes which year. The calendar years loaded so far, 2022 to 2024, are exactly the ones where the revised-return window has closed, which leaves an updated return or FAST-DS, open until 31 December 2026. The comparison is in revised return, ITR-U or FAST-DS, and the scheme in FAST-DS 2026, explained. For the field-by-field mapping, see Schedule FA from your broker statement. The accounts most often missed, which rarely show in the report, are in foreign assets people forget in Schedule FA.

For how RSUs, ESPPs and foreign accounts are taxed and disclosed together, see foreign income, RSU and ESOP filing.


This note describes the Foreign Assets Information report as set out in CBDT's order of 8 July 2026, its note of 17 July 2026 and the Directorate of Income Tax (Systems) user guide, version 1.0 of July 2026, read with the OECD Common Reporting Standard and the India–US FATCA agreement. The portal's layout, feedback options and data coverage may change, and calendar year 2025 data was still due as at the date above. The worked example is illustrative. How a given entry should be answered, and whether a return needs correcting, depends on your statements and the returns you filed, and should be confirmed before feedback is submitted.

Download the Schedule FA peak balance worksheet

The month-by-month working that computes peak value for you, the account and holdings tables with the source for every field, and a pre-filing checklist. CSV — opens in Excel or Google Sheets.

Your number is used to answer questions on the worksheet and on foreign asset reporting. No third-party sharing, and you can ask to be removed at any time.

Frequently asked questions

Where exactly is the Foreign Assets Information report?

Log in to the e-filing portal at incometax.gov.in and open the AIS, either from e-File, then Income Tax Returns, then View Annual Information Statement (AIS), or from the AIS tab on the home page. That takes you to the Compliance Portal. Open the Reports tab, click Foreign Assets Information, choose a calendar year from the drop-down and click Download PDF. The figures are not shown on screen. They come only as a password-protected PDF, and the password is your PAN in lower case followed by your date of birth in DDMMYYYY format.

Which years does the report cover?

Calendar years, not Indian financial years. CBDT's note of 17 July 2026 says data for calendar years 2022, 2023 and 2024 is loaded, and calendar year 2025 will be added once it is received in September or October 2026. Each calendar year lines up with the Schedule FA of one return: calendar year 2024 goes with the return for AY 2025-26, and calendar year 2025 with AY 2026-27. Comparing a calendar year with the wrong return is the most common source of false alarms.

The report shows a lower balance than I put in Schedule FA. Is one of them wrong?

Probably not. The report shows the account balance at the end of the calendar year, as the bank or broker calculated it, in the currency it reported. Schedule FA asks for the peak balance during the year as well as the closing balance, both in rupees at the State Bank of India's telegraphic transfer buying rate on the relevant date. The peak can be far above the year-end figure. Compare the report with your closing balance, in the foreign currency, before concluding anything.

My US brokerage account shows dividends but no balance. Does that mean the balance does not matter?

No. Under the India–US FATCA agreement, the United States sends India the account number, interest on deposit accounts, US-source dividends and other US-source income. It does not send account balances or sale proceeds. A blank balance for a US account reflects what the agreement covers, not what you have to disclose. Schedule FA still needs the peak and closing value of the account and each holding, taken from your own statements.

Can I mark an entry 'does not pertain to me' if I have since closed the account?

No. That option is for an account that was never yours, such as an entry matched to your PAN by mistake. A closed account was yours for the part of the year it was open. It still belongs in the Schedule FA of every calendar year in which you held it, with its peak balance and a nil closing balance for the year it closed. Banks report the closure itself and need not report a balance at closure, so a closed account can appear with a nil or missing balance.

If I submit feedback, have I fixed a missing Schedule FA?

No. Feedback tells the department whether the reported data is right. It is not a return, it does not add anything to Schedule FA, and it is not a declaration under the Black Money Act. An omission in a filed return is fixed by a revised return while that window is open, or dealt with through an updated return or FAST-DS for older years. Feedback on each category can be submitted only once, so reconcile first and respond second.

Does the report in your AIS match what you filed?

Send the Foreign Assets Information PDF for each year, your account statements and the returns filed for those years, on WhatsApp or by email. What reconciles, what genuinely does not, and which feedback option each entry needs are worked out before anything is submitted.

Related service: Foreign Income / RSU & ESOP